Reuben Ebrahimoff

Four Hebrew New Years

The Four Hebrew

New Years



First of Tishrei

First of Tishrei: The first of Tishrei is also known as Rosh Hashanah and usually corresponds to the month of September. It marks the day when the Jewish calendar year advances and is seen traditionally as the date when the world was created. It was also the new year for setting the 7th Sabbatical year, during which land may not be cultivated, and for setting the Jubilee Year, the 50th year following seven cycles of Sabbatical years. The first of Tishrei is also the new year for figuring the yearly tithe (ma'aser), or ten percent tax, on vegetables and grains. The Levites and priests were supported by these tithes, because they did not own land. The tithe for a particular year had to be paid with produce from the same year, thus requiring a standard date to begin and end each fiscal year.

Further Reading: